Once TinyTERM's connection settings are configured, they often need to be protected. In addition to the file protection security offered by Windows, TinyTERM includes the option to remove user interface components.
To hide user interface components, go to the Options menu and select Global Preferences. Disable the options that users will not need. In particular:
- Menu Bar - The menus contain all the configuration options.
- Session Bar - This line at the bottom of the TinyTERM window shows the open sessions. The individual session buttons include a right-click menu that allows editing the settings.
- Ribbon Bar - The Ribbon Bar is the collection of buttons immediately beneath the menus. It includes configuration and file transfer capabilities.
- Save Settings on Exit - Set this to Never so changes are not automatically saved when TinyTERM closes.
- Protect All Settings - This option prevents accidental changes to the connection settings.
Once these changes have been made, save the session.
Note: the menu bar can still be displayed by clicking the TinyTERM icon at
the upper left of the window, in the title bar. If the menu should not be available
at all, open the
.tpx file in a text editor. Search for the line:
Change the number
2. This will remove the option
to display the menu bar completely. Save the file after making this change, then
continue with distribution.